Translate

Saturday, September 16, 2017

WWE Mattel - The Bezerker Review !!!

Here is another character that I have been dreaming of owning as a WWE Mattel figure. The Berzerker debuts with his " First Time in the Line ". I purchased this figure of the Berzerker at a local Walmart for a discounted price of $ 17.99 .



If we ever see a Mr. Fuji Mattel figure any time soon , you can display him next to the Bezerker because Fuji was his manager . Now for a look at the Bezerker out of the packaging .




The Berzerker comes with a variety of accessories . His sword, shield , necklace , viking helmet , and I guess you could consider the tunic and knee pads as accessories also.  The sword and shield are made out of a hard plastic, and not the soft rubbery type. As you can see the helmet is removable. My only complaint about this Berzerker figure is that is is extremely difficult to display one of his signature moves - the big boot . Since the tunic is made out of a hard rubbery plastic it is difficult to get his leg in position to display the kick to his opponent's face . The tunic restricts the movement you need to pull off that signature move. Other than that one gripe everything else about the Berzerker is perfect . His open mouth is displayed in tribute to his supposed war or battle cry by him saying the words " huss, huss , huss ". In real life it is really his way of paying some respect to his friend and fellow wrestler known as Bruiser Brody . Good job by Mattel for sticking with his gimmick in action figure form . Love the boots. They look cool and they make him have a steady standing balance. Mattel also did a nice job of making the figure look insane with the eyes, just like the character of The Berzerker was portrayed as when he entered the ring . Now for a look at the diorama piece that he comes with . 
Above is the Boiler room piece of the diorama that comes with The Berzerker . 
FINAL   THOUGHTS 

(1) ARTICULATION  - The tunic restricts both of his legs moving all the way upward to execute one of his signature moves, the "big boot". Unless you remove the tunic or cut it a little with some scissors, however this would probably mess up the look of the figure . The choice is yours . 

(2) STANDING  ABILITY  - The Berzerker stands very well thanks to his big furry boots . 

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The luxury of having Berzerker in the line. I love the accessories of the helmet, sword and shield . And the idea that customizers can customize him into a barbaric warrior for another toy line if they don't want him as a wrestler . For example, he can be turned into a newly created character for Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones because of the accessories . Love the furry boots and the figure just flat out looks cool . The open mouth gimmick with his known battle cry of " huss" is like a bonus . 

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - That the tunic restricts upper thigh movement, preventing him from executing one of his signature moves .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ? -Make the tunic cloth instead of hard plastic. EXAMPLE - similar to the vest of the Masters of the Universe vintage Prince Adam figure from the 1980s . 

(6) GRADING  SCALE - If not for the tunic restricting upper leg movement , I'd give this figure a Perfect 10 . But because of this mishap I'd say a 9.5 is still a pretty good score . 

(7) FINAL THOUGHTS - Now if we could just beg Mattel to make a Mr. Fuji figure , so that we can stand him next to one of his wrestlers in the Berzerker on our display shelves, that would be nice to have Fuji in the collection . 


















Monday, September 4, 2017

Happy Labor Day 2017 !!!

Happy Labor Day everyone!!! Nothing new for this year but have a look back at a past Labor Day post acknowledging the holiday action figure style. A  2014 post at http://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2014/09/happy-labor-day-2014-tribute-to-suit.html . Enjoy the day and God Bless !!!

Thursday, August 31, 2017

No winner for the July 2017 Contest .

Unfortunately no one won the July 2017 Contest . Below is what was shown .
And below is the answer .
Marvel Legends Mockingbird . GOOD LUCK to everyone in the August 2017 Contest .

Tuesday, August 29, 2017

August 2017 Contest . Win 10 Dollars !!!

For this month's contest there are two figures to be recognized . Win 10 dollars via PayPal.

Name the two figures and the name of the franchises .

Contest expires September 30, 2017 . GOOD LUCK TO EVERYONE !!!

Monday, August 28, 2017

Hulk Rage Cage Ad along with The Thing Rock Trap .

Here's another look at more Marvel Toys from the 1970s. This Hulk Rage Cage is not to be confused with the Toybiz version of the early 2000s .
Cool features for both figures. Plus there big figures too, over one foot tall according to the advertisement . Now for the real photographs of these toys .

The two pics above are NOT my pics. I do not own any of those toys, they are from the web . The Thing is kind of hard to find on Ebay . There seems to be more Hulk than him .

Sunday, August 27, 2017

Marvel Legends Hela Review !!!

This action figure of Hela is based on the upcoming Thor Ragnarok movie . This is also Hela's first time as a Marvel Legend . I purchased this figure of Hela at a local Walgreens for around the $ 19.99 price range .



I love the light blues on this series' packaging . Now for a look at the figure out of the packaging.






As you can see extra clear packaging has been packed with the figure to hold extra accessories. This is my first time ever seeing this. She comes with the left arm and hammer like weapon of this series gladiator Hulk build-a-figure, in which this version of the Hulk is also in the Thor Ragnarok movie . The main surprise is how tall Hela is . The character is listed at an even seven feet tall, so this statistic makes her action figure quite tall as well . Besides the Hulk's accessories, Hela's accessories include an alternate unmasked head and her own weapon, which I do not know what it is called or what is it . It looks like some magical weapon in my opinion, a combination of a sword and magic wand . If you pay attention, you'll notice there are quite a few differences between Hela's two heads . On the masked head her eyes are concealed, but are clearly shown on the unmasked head . Also the masked head has on green lipstick , whereas the unmasked head either has pink natural lips or no lipstick at all . And finally the mask does a great job of hiding her long black shoulder length hair. Whereas it is clearly visible on the unmasked head . Overall I love this figure, I just have one complaint about her which is her left leg seems to be kind of loose. Not much tightness . However this could just be my copy of the Hela figure and hopefully not them all . Now for a look at Hela without the cape .




One of the best things about this figure is that there are various multiple ways you can display her . With or without the cape, with masked or unmasked head , masked head no cape, unmasked head no cape,etc . The cape itself is a nice soft rubbery light weight rubbery plastic. It does not make Hela top heavy and it easily inserts into a hole at the bottom of her neck . Now for some size comparison shots to other Marvel Legends .




As you can see Hela towers over male characters such as Captain America among others in height . In the second size comparison pic not only do you see Hela towering over the other women but they all also share the same similar green attire clothing scheme . Just what is it with Marvel and women in green , lol ( laugh out loud ) ?  And finally , a comparison of Hela to fellow Asgardian the Enchantress . Enchantress is listed at a height of 6"3 , so Hasbro did a great job of making Hela's 7 foot height not only tower over her but everyone else .
                                                                 FINAL    THOUGHTS  

(1) ARTICULATION  LIMITATIONS  - Hela's upward head movement is limited with the unmasked head because the shoulder length hair restricts it. However with the masked head she can easily look upward . No other limitations .

(2) STANDING  ABILITY - Hela stands fine once you get her in the proper standing pose .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - The luxury of having another Thor villain to the collection . I love the multiple display options with Hela and she just flat out looks cool .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - Her loose left leg, but it could just be my copy of the figure and not them all .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THIS  FIGURE ? - Tighten the loose leg .

(6) GRADING  SCALE - If I was just judging only MY copy of Hela , I would give her a 9.0 because of the loose left leg . If I'm just judging the Hela figure overall , ignoring my copy , I give her a Perfect Ten .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - If your're a huge fan of Thor, you'll be glad to learn that more Asgardians and Thor characters are on their way to join Hela .

Wednesday, August 23, 2017

WWE Mattel Nia Jax Review !!!

I've been wanting this figure of Nia Jax ever since I saw a pic of it. The figure arrived at Ringside Collectibles in May of this year, however it is the month of August where I finally get a Nia Jax figure. Reason being, I was trying to find her in person with no luck. I searched Walmarts, Targets, Walgreens, Toys R Us with no luck. Finally I got sick of the chase and decided to order her online . I wanted to avoid buying from the internet because of the wait time and shipping. However I got lucky as the price on her at Ringside Collectibles dropped tremendously . Probably because she is a Basic figure and not an Elite , even tough she looks as if she can pass as an Elite . I purchased this figure of Nia Jax at Ringside Collectibles at www.ringsidecollectibles.com . I'm not giving the price because they change prices on figures almost constantly . So I do not want to give you a number that may be soon changed .

As you can see Nia is a " First Time in the Line " figure . Since she is a Basic figure there is no bio or statistics on the back of the packaging . There is another figure of Nia, same figure although the difference is one Nia figure comes with a trophy and the other does not . As you can see I purchased the version with no accessories . Now for a look at the figure out of the packaging . 



Unlike most of the other WWE Mattel female figures , Nia is totally new with all new parts and a new body mold. No reused parts with this figure . Plus she is the first plus-sized female figure to be made for this line . I love this figure. She is awesome. Nice outfit too with a black leathery look and purple trimmings . I love the shoulder pads and the hip pads, Mattel did a great job of making her body look realistic just like her face. I think Nia is now my favorite WWE Mattel female figure. At least for now . Plus it's great to own a plus sized female figure, as you can display her in poses where she can toss the other female figures around the ring like rag dolls . Speaking of other female figures, below are comparison shots of Nia next to two of them . 

Above Nia is standing next to Alicia Fox and Paige . Even though Nia is a plus-sized woman, she does not totally tower over most of the other female figures height wise . Nia is listed at an even 6 feet tall , whereas the average WWE Divas are like around the 5"7 through 5"9 range . So Nia has a height advantage over most of her opponents but not a super huge advantage in height . Now weight on the other hand , that's a different story . This is what really separates her from the other women . Nia is also listed at 240 on Google, but Wikipedia has her listed at 272 lbs . Whichever one is correct, she is still much bigger than the average WWE Diva . Speaking of size, let's see how Nia compares to a few of the male figures .



In the first two male figure comparison pics for Nia, she stands next to her 6"5 cousin known as the Rock . As you can see she is at even height with John Cena, who is the same height as she . In the final above pic, you can see that Nia not only is taller than the 5"6 Kalisto but is also much bigger . This Nia Jax figure just made history in the WWE Mattel franchise , and this pick proves it . The history I'm referring to is " that the Nia Jax figure is the FIRST WWE Mattel female figure to be bigger in both height and weight than some of the males . Now for a look at one of her finishing moves action figure style .
If you go to Nia Jax's Wikipedia profile , you'll see that she has four finishing moves at the time of this writing . The one above is my best attempt at her getting ready to deliver a " Pop-up Samoan Drop" .
                                                 FINAL   THOUGHTS  
(1) ARTICULATION  -  The only part of Nia's articulation that seems limited is upward head movement . She can look downward pretty well .

(2) STANDING  ABILITY - She stands very well with no balance issues .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - It's nice to have a plus size female competitor for a change. She can overpower the other women with her size and strength . Plus Nia just flat out looks cool , outfit and all .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - There is nothing that I dislike about this figure .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THIS  FIGURE ? No improvements needed .

( 6) GRADING  SCALE - A Perfect 10 . Excellent action figure . I could find nothing to complain about .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS - If Mattel ever make future versions of Nia in some of her alternate outfits, I just may buy them , adding more Nia Jax figures to the collection . She's so cool I would not mind them making more figures of her .