Translate

Sunday, May 20, 2018

WWE MATTEL - Mickie James Review Elite Series 58 !!!

This is my second figure of  Mickie James and is also the second figure of her in the WWE Mattel toy line. The very first Mickie James figure came out several years ago like when the WWE Mattel line first debuted . I purchased this figure at a local Walmart for a discounted price of $ 17.99 . 



 As you can see Mickie has had a successful career as a six-time women's division champion.
 Above Mickie is wearing the only accessory that she comes with . The WWE Women;s Championship belt .
 One of the most difficult things about making action figures is trying to get an accurate height scale. Since in real life she is listed at 5"4 it would seem that the figure would be quite a bit shorter than six inches tall. She should have been just a little over five inches tall, since the six inch scale is like comparing real life measurements. For example - five inches equals five feet , six inches equals six feet, etc .

 I really love this figure . I love her new outfit and how colorful it is, since light blue is one of my favorite colors anyway. Plus it looks great mixed in with the pink trimmings. Love the bell bottom pants, a fashion designed that has been around since the 1960s or 1970s . Now for the comparisons of the newer Mickie James figure to the older one .
 As you can see there looks to be more differences than similarities , and because of this the newer Mickie figure feels like a totally new figure altogether and not just a repaint . Different foot wear, different outfit , plus both figures left hands are different . The newer Mickie's left hand is an open palm. Whereas the older one's left is more of an open fist . As for the similarities , the arms look the same and so does the torso . I'm not sure about the legs, they may be the same but the different pants makes it somewhat difficult to notice .
 Even the faces are different . She almost looks like a totally different person. This is mainly because the older figure is a representation of her when she was younger, and the newer one is a version of her as she ages. The newer one seems to have jowls around her mouth if you look closely, and the older one does not . The newer Mickie is also wearing more makeup, plus it is applied nicely to her face. Also it looks like the older figure's face may have been sculpted by someone , whereas the newer one looks as if her face may have been printed out by a 3D printer rather than sculpted. I say this because the newer figure's face looks more realistic to me .



Also as you can see, not only is the hair different in style but her hair is also a different sculpt and design . The only similarity in the hair is that they're both the same color .
                                                        FINAL  THOUGHTS  
(1) ARTICULATION  LIMITS - No upward head movement and no ab crunch as with all of the female figures of this line .

(2) STANDING  ABILITY -  She stands very well because she is flat footed. No heels on her shoes.

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - Her outfit. I like how colorful it is plus the pink designs in it are a nice work of art . The championship belt is a nice work of art also .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THIS  FIGURE ? - No dislikes .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE? - Upward head movement, however I'm not bothered by it plus I'm used to the female figures of this line being this way now after all of this time .

(6) GRADING  SCALE - A Perfect 10 despite no upward head movement.

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS -   The first Mickie James figure looks as if she is ready for battle, whereas the newer one almost looks as if she is more ready for a Disco club than a wrestling match. However they both look great !!!

Monday, May 14, 2018

MARVEL LEGENDS - Proxima Midnight Review !!!

Based on her looks in the hit movie " Avengers Infinity War" here is Proxima Midnight, a  member of Thanos ' Black Order Army .  This is also the first and only Marvel Legend figure of Proxima. She was not made by Toybiz. I purchased this figure of Proxima Midnight at a local Walmart for around the $ 19.99 price range .


I love the way her face looks on the packaging drawing above . It looks better than the action figure's face in my opinion . It looks more feminine than the action figure's face .
If you're having trouble seeing the bio it says" A lieutenant of the Black Order, Proxima Midnight serves Thanos in his quest for ultimate power . " That sentence alone tells us that Proxima has high ranking in The Black Order, being a lieutenant .


All of the accessories you see above is what you get with Proxima. As you can see she comes with the torso of the Thanos build-a-figure .

The only thing that I'm NOT 100% satisfied with Proxima is her face . I'm not complaining about the sculpt, however . The facial sculpt is nice. The dark blue smudge on her lips just does not look right in my opinion. Plus is it just me or does the face almost looks masculine . Other than this gripe she is a great action figure .
As you can see Proxima is bigger than the average woman . Since she is an alien from another world she is listed at seven feet tall by Marvel , so it makes since that the figure is around seven inches tall to stay true to the character's height scale .
As you can see the movie version of Proxima has both lots of differences and similarities to the comic book version . The only thing that I like better about the comic version is that she is way more feminine looking than the movie version . It would have been great if Proxima came with a "bonus" comic book head to go along with the default movie head . The movie changed her weapon a lot too . The comic version looks more like a spear, where as  her movie weapon almost resembles a trident.
                                                     FINAL   THOUGHTS   
(1) ARTICULATION   LIMITS  -  only upward head movement is restricted by her hard plastic hair .
(2) STANDING  ABILITY -  She stands well however I think she would stand better if she did not have heels. Even though the heels are even with the rest of her feet, although I think Proxima would stand better if she was one hundred percent flat footed .

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  THE  FIGURE  ? -  The luxury of not only owning a "first time in the line" figure but also obtaining a  high ranking member of one of the most dangerous villain groups in the Marvel Universe . I also like Proxima's size and her bulkiness, making the figure fun to pose and hold in your hands .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  THE  FIGURE ? - The face not looking feminine enough .

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  THE  FIGURE ? - As already mentioned , a bonus comic book head would have been a nice add on item .

(6) GRADING  SCALE  -  This figure gets a minus for not looking feminine enough in the face, along with the blemish on her lips. So I think a 9.8 out of 10 is a nice score . I would also add the limited upper head movement as a negative, however I'm not bothered by it .

(7) FINAL  ANALYSIS -  Will the popularity of the Infinity War movie help the sales of the figures ? Remains to be seen .

Sunday, May 13, 2018

Happy Mother's Day 2018 to all the moms !!!! A look back at a past tribute .

Happy Mother's Day to all of the moms out there !!!  Today is a look back at a old tribute  based on action figures of female characters that are moms . Here's the link  -  http://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2015/05/2015-mothers-day-action-figure-tribute.html  .

Monday, April 30, 2018

April 2018 Contest !!! Win 10 dollars via Paypal !!!

Give the name of the figure and the toy line .
You have until May 31,2018 to come up with the correct answers . GOOD  LUCK  TO  EVERYONE !!!

Sunday, April 29, 2018

WWE Mattel Howard Finkel Build-a-figure Review !!!

To complete the Howard Finkel figure, you will need to purchase four basic figures in the series . Since Basic figures are at lower prices than the Elite ones, I was glad that Finkel was not a part of an Elite series. So by him being in a basic series, it saves us all a good deal of money . I was lucky enough to purchase all four figures on the same day at the same local Walmart . Below are pics of the figures that you will need to purchase to complete Finkel . I just love how colorful the packagings are with the light blue and red colors.
The Million Dollar Man comes with Howard's torso .
Bob Orton comes with Howard's head and microphone .
Rick Rude comes with both of Finkel's legs .
Sgt. Slaughter comes with both of Howard's arms .
Once you get Howard put together, he is a perfectly cool figure . My only complaint about him is the same one that I had about the Mean Gene Okerlund figure, that he is just a little bit too tall . When you visit Finkel's Wikipedia page , he is listed at 5"8 . However this figure is just a little over six inches tall, making him somewhat out of scale when placed next to figures that he should be shorter than .

 For those of you that may not be familiar with whom Howard Finkel is, he is a former ring announcer for the WWE . Lots of times he was referred to as "The Fink" . The figure is pretty cool and detailed with realism . You can clearly see the age lines in his neck .

The card backs are basically the same on all of the figures in this series with the exception of one mishap. Or is it an error ? Look closely and you'll notice that on one box art Howard's right hand is an open palm so he can hold the microphone, whereas the closed fist is the left hand . On the other it's vice versa, the exact opposite . The microphone holding hand is the left one and the closed fist is the right . Did Mattel do this intentionally ? Is this their way of telling us that either of Howard's arms can fit into either shoulder socket ? Or was this a mistake ? When I was putting Finkel together, I had difficulty inserting the microphone holding hand into the left socket, however it's a perfect fit into the right socket as you can see in the pictures . Plus I also wonder why does Howard Finkel has a closed fist ?He's NOT a fighter or a wrestler, just a ring announcer . So that makes me wonder a bit, although I'm not bothered by it, just curious about it . Gene Okerlund has the closed fist also .
Again, the above figures are all you need to complete Howard Finkel . Before purchasing these guys, the only figure I really wanted out of this series was The Million Dollar Man. Reasons being is because he is a classic WWE character that I wanted to add to my collection plus this is my first and only WWE Mattel figure of him . Not to mention this suited version works well with the Virgil figure . I did not want the others because- I already own Elite figures of Sgt. Slaughter and Rick Rude in the collection, so I had no interest in these basic figures . As for Cowboy Bob Orton, I did not have a figure of him I just was not interested in him . However that changed once I removed them out of their packaging . I like Bob Orton's hat and despite already owning a Slaughter figure I've come to like this basic figure after all, he seems really cool with the head attire to pair him when he was in alliance with The Iron Sheik . However I still have no interest in the Rick Rude figure and I'm thinking about either selling him or giving him away in one of my contests . Before purchasing this set all I really wanted was The Million Dollar Man and the build-a-figure himself , Finkel .
                                                    FINAL    THOUGHTS   
(1) ARTICULATION   LIMITS -  Even though Howard is a part of a Basic series, he has the articulation of an Elite figure . The Basic figures that you need to build him of course have their normal Basic figure articulation .

(2) STANDING  ABILITY- All of the figures in this series including Howard stand well without balance issues.

(3) WHAT  I  LIKE  BEST  ABOUT  EACH  FIGURE  INCLUDING  HOWARD ? - Million Dollar Man - his blueish green outfit. One of my favorite colors . Orton - his hat . Rick Rude - Nothing because I already own an Elite Rude figure . Slaughter - he's built like he's ready to fight, his brawler style mold makes him ready for fighting poses. Finkel - The star of this series, I like the figure's overall true likeness to the real man . Plus the inclusion of the microphone .

(4) WHAT  I  LIKE  LEAST  ABOUT  ANY  OF  THESE  FIGURES ? - I do not like Howard's height being out of scale, other than that there are no dislikes for any of the figures, including Rude . Rude was just the only figure I have no interest in keeping . 

(5) WHAT  COULD  HAVE  BEEN  DONE  TO  IMPROVE  ANY  OF  THE  FIGURES ? - No improvements needed with the exception of making Howard just a little shorter .

(6) GRADING  SCALE  -   I give Million Dollar Man and Slaughter a Perfect 10 . I'm not sure what to give Rude and Orton . Howard himself gets a 9.8 . The minus is for him being just a little too tall and out of scale, other than that he is perfect .

(7)  FINAL  ANALYSIS -  Now that Howard Finkel  has been made into a WWE Mattel figure, I am now looking forward to a figure of fellow female ring announcer known as Lilian Garcia .

Thursday, April 26, 2018

WWE Mattel Nia Jax Figure Comparisons !!!

I recently purchased my second figure of Nia Jax about a month ago at a local Walmart . I will not be reviewing her because I reviewed her first figure, which is basically the same mold with the exception of the hair. The rest is just a new paint job . Plus this post is strictly a " COMPARISON POST " and not a review post . Here is the link to a review of her first figure - http://actionfigureimagerytoyreviews.blogspot.com/2017/08/wwe-mattel-nia-jax-review.html .
Below are the pics of the newer Jax packaged and compared to the older figure .





I like the Nia Jax figure so much I just gave in ad bought it. I usually don't purchase repaints of the same character but in Nia Jax's case I made an exception .

Monday, April 23, 2018

Geico Infinity War Promotion Commercial !!! MARVEL LEGENDS used in the commercial ???

I was watching the NBA Playoffs and caught this commercial .  Right after I saw this commercial I looked for it on YouTube and here is the link to that commercial via Youtube -  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGRF7honCns .
Thanks to Geico , not only is this commercial promoting the Avengers Infinity War Movie, but it could help increase more exposure to Marvel Legends , according to this screen cap I took with my camera .
Those definitely look like Marvel Legends to me . A fun commercial by the way !!!